day forty-three: d.p. dough

July 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

The parking lot of D.P. Dough off Green Street seems to be a hot spot for unsavory loiterers. Fortunately for non-loiterers like me, with places to go, people to see, who thus feel out of place with the loitering gang, D.P. Dough’s specialty is delivery. Calzone delivery, to be precise.

I ordered D.P. Dough after missing my lunch break on Friday. All the campus dining options were closed. I could have waited until quitting time at 4pm, but I had work to do and knew I wouldn’t get through it without some serious carbohydrate energy. I was surprised when they were willing to deliver me a single calzone (price $6.84) all the way from downtown to central campus. Admittedly, I wasn’t expecting much, probably because I had plucked the dirty, water-logged menu from which I was ordering off someone’s car window earlier that morning. Such encounters were rarely auspicious beginnings to any meal.

I was out in back of the A.D. White House when my calzone box arrived. The delivery guy was friendly and promptly found me. I tipped him more than the standard 20%, considering the price of the calzone and how far the small box had traveled to my desk. I was surprised when I opened said box to find something not resembling a traditional rolled calzone, but rather something that looked like two pieces of pizza with a top crust as well as a bottom one. It was as if someone had taken a piece of pizza, turned it upside-down on top another piece of pizza, and baked it. It was kind of like having my own personal pan pizza plus (or, as D.P. Dough calls it, “the pizza alternative”) delivered to me. I took a bite and looked inside.

D.P. Dough will pretty much put any pizza topping you want in a calzone. My calzone, the “Roni Zoni,” had mozzarella, ricotta, and pepperoni in it. I was surprised at its deliciousness. The cheese was layered on thick; the dough on the bottom, fluffy; on the top, crunchy; and the pepperoni, hearty. I tried the dipping sauce provided on the side and found it inedible: It was overly vinegary and the spices tasted if they had been added to it as an afterthought, as they were dry and not blended in with the tomato sauce.

The calzone lasted me through the rest of my work day, a nap, a run and some drinking until I finally got hungry again at 10:30 at night. And, I didn’t have to worry, as I do with pizza orders, about when I’d eat the leftovers. In fact, I enjoyed my calzone so much that I was disappointed to learn that D.P. Dough was a chain. From their website, it seemed like they might be spammers as well:

PLEASE SEND US AN EMAIL IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE REGARDING THE POSSIBILITY OF OPENING A D.P. DOUGH STORE. WE CAN ANSWER ANY OF YOUR QUESTIONS VIA EMAIL OR PHONE. USUALLY AFTER WE ANSWER ALL OF YOUR QUESTIONS, THE NEXT STEP WOULD BE TO MEET WITH US HERE IN MASSACHUSETTS AT WHICH TIME WE WOULD GIVE YOU A COPY OF THE FRANCHISE OR LICENSE AGREEMENT. IT WOULD BE BEST IF YOU HAD APPROX. $100,000.00 OF LIQUID CAPITAL AVAILABLE BEFORE WE MEET. THANK YOU FOR YOUR INTEREST, D.P. DOUGH.

Sorry, Mr. or Mrs. Dough, but I don’t have that kind of dough. I’ll stick to spending my $6.84 in liquid capital per calzone.

Price: Student-friendly (< $7)
Hours: T & Sun 11am – 2am; W & Th, 11am – 3am; F & Sat 11am – 4am
Location: 114 W. Green Street (near Cayuga)
Website: D.P. Dough

D P Dough on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading day forty-three: d.p. dough at 90 days, 90 restaurants.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

